Presidential Letters (Part I)


Skip to product information
1 of 1


Presidential Letters (Part I)

Presidential Letters (Part I)

Regular price $99.99
Regular price Sale price $99.99
View full details

About This Collection:

Love presidential history and trivia?  Get letters in the mail written from or to Presidents 1-36.

In 1789, George Washington was sworn in as the first President of the United States. Over the next 180 years, thirty-four others took the Oath of Office and made their mark on the presidency.

This series explores the evolving role of the president (from 1789 through 1969) and the duties of the office through the letters, memorandums, and telegrams of the first thirty-five men to inhabit the office.

Each month of letters will focus on one unique aspect of the job. Examples of monthly themes you might receive include “Commander-In-Chief,” “The Veto,” and “Accidental Presidents.” 

Each letter will explore the monthly theme through the lens of a different president. All letters include a “postscript” article, written by our expert curators, with detailed background information on your latest letter and the president who wrote or received it.

Part I of this two-part series includes:

  • Twenty-six letters (one per week), each to or from a president
  • A “postscript” article with historical context on each letter and the president who wrote it.
  • USPS First-Class Postage for each letter.

Part II will be available in early 2023.

Presidents In This Series (Parts I & II):

  1. George Washington
  2. John Adams
  3. Thomas Jefferson
  4. James Madison
  5. James Monroe
  6. John Quincy Adams
  7. Andrew Jackson
  8. Martin Van Buren
  9. William Henry Harrison
  10. John Tyler
  11. James K. Polk
  12. Zachary Taylor
  13. Millard Fillmore
  14. Franklin Pierce
  15. James Buchanan
  16. Abraham Lincoln
  17. Andrew Johnson
  18. Ulysses S. Grant
  19. Rutherford B. Hayes
  20. James A. Garfield
  21. Chester A. Arthur
  22. Grover Cleveland (2nd Term)
  23. Benjamin Harrison
  24. Grover Cleveland
  25. William McKinley
  26. Theodore Roosevelt
  27. William Howard Taft
  28. Woodrow Wilson
  29. Warren G. Harding
  30. Calvin Coolidge
  31. Herbert Hoover
  32. Franklin D. Roosevelt
  33. Harry S. Truman
  34. Dwight D. Eisenhower
  35. John F. Kennedy
  36. Lyndon B. Johnson

Please Note:  All of the above presidents will appear in either part I or part II. Because there are thirty-six presidents on the list and each part only includes twenty-six letters, some will only appear in one of the two parts.